Peace Spokes from Peace Coffee
Subscribe to Peace Spokes

by Justin Young, Peace Coffee Bike Team

We are at the mid-point this year for the 2011 Minnesota Mountain Bike Series, and the Peace Coffee Racing Team didn’t take long to get settled into the saddle. Peace Coffee Racing also went about exceeding any and all expectations. In fact, they’ve set the bar pretty high.

We have a lot of new happenings this year with Peace Coffee Racing: a brand spanking new website, as well as new uniforms and members. Also keeping to tradition around Peace Coffee Racing are top finishing results. We’re not the types to stand up and beat our chests like gorillas, but we wanted to make sure the guys and gals got the recognition they deserve for clearing the rock garden, climbing to the top of the ski hill, and playing chicken with old-growth timber. So we’ve compiled a list of podiums and highlights below. Congratulations to the Peace Coffee Racing Team at the mid-season point.

Within the Citizen Class team Peace Coffee Racing is leading the charge with 742 points keeping a distance from Bicycle Sports with 696 points. This charge is led most recently at the Buck Hill Birch Bump by team riders and avid bicycle family Bev, Sydney, and Van Carlson (Apple Valley, MN) whom took 1st, 2nd, and 8th places respectively. Janet Atkinson (Burnsville, MN) has also been in the mix for scoring team points with a 4th place finish recently at the Wheelhouse Memorial Classic. Zachary Smith (Savage, MN) is another young rider to keep an eye on in the future; he scored team points with an 8th place at the Afton Avalanche.   

The Sport Class team for Peace Coffee racing is sitting in 5th place through mid-season respectively. Recent Leaders for the Peace Coffee Racing team have been from Ben Robetor (Maplewood, MN), Ryan Fahrmann (North Branch, MN), and Frank Bobick (Cottage Grove, MN) whom have finished 20th, 26th and 28th respectively at the Buck Hill Birch Bump. Chad Robida (Woodbury, MN) and Todd Amunrud (Northfield, MN) have been getting into the mix as far as team results go with recently a 16th and 27th place, respectively, at the Wheelhouse Memorial Classic.

Next, the Comp Class team has been doing well currently sitting in 11th place at the mid-season point. Since last year, the team is a little sparse with Peace Coffee Racing team riders upgrading to the more competitive expert class category. None the less, the Comp team is always near the top of the podium. Bryan Rhody (Edina, MN) recently took the victory at the Buck Hill Birch Bump, and taking the next points for the team was Aaron Peterson (Minneapolis, MN) in 5th, and Todd Nesvold (Forest Lake, MN) in 25th. Alan Eastlund (Edina, MN), at the Wheelhouse Memorial Classic, took 28th and added to the team score keeping the team in a respected position.

Finally, our Expert Class team at this point of the year in 2010 was leading the standings. 2011 has gotten more competitive with stronger riders and more teams coming to compete in the 2011 Minnesota Mountain Bike Series. Currently the Peace Coffee Racing Team is holding the 4th spot in the overall standings. Leading the charge has been Jennifer Nowlin (Minneapolis, MN) on the women’s side with a 2nd place overall at the Buck Hill Birch Bump and Matthew Nelson (Minneapolis, MN) and Jamison Beisswenger (Minneapolis, MN) on the men’s side with 14th and 15th places overall respectively. Mick Carlson (Apple Valley, MN) has also been helping to keep Peace Coffee Racing in contention for the overall Expert Class title with a 16th place finish at the Wheelhouse Memorial Classic. Not to forget Joe Kjeer (Scandia, MN) had a 17th place finish at the Afton Avalanche keeping Peace Coffee a threat to other teams looking for glory.

Up next for the Peace Coffee Racing team is the infamous Single Track Attack, at Hillside Park, in Elk River, MN!

Justin Young is a Peace Coffee Cycling Rider and advocate. He loves the outdoors and coffee. He is a former UW Green Bay skier and now an Analyst at Digital River.

(Back to Headlines)